You’re Not The Boss Of Me!


Happy Saturday Everyone!

I hope you are having a great weekend so far. As I am sure getting in some last minute shopping and eating! I wanted to share something with you that I would encourage you to use in the coming year. If you are about to embark on a new outlook for fitness in the new year as many do, the one thing that can curb or slow your energy is the power of the body over the mind. Yes, you read that right. Most times it’s not our brain that stops us, it is the body saying: “Hey, what are you trying to do?…we like it slow and packed in here! Stop!”

Specific to your eating strategy, I have included a little quote that you should read over a couple of times to understand what food is for the body as you look to improve your physical and nutritional well being. That being said, here it is:

I identified my stomach, and my tongue as little children and my mind as the parent. As I walked through the store my tongue and stomach squealed with joy at everything they saw and wanted it all right now. My mind told them that yes it all looked very yummy but that it wasn’t a good thing for the body. And just like children, the organs of appetite first began crying in agony like they were going to die, and then became angry and threatened to hurt me. But as the parent, my mind had to stay calm and firm, even through the tantrums, and eventually, there was peace again. And ultimately the children came to understand the truth and thanked me.

I have found this analogy to work with all the appetites of the human body. Craft it to work best for you and whatever temptations that may cause you to become distracted from your goal.

Thanks for reading and have an awesome Saturday!

About jfitclub11

Proud Father, easy going kind of guy that enjoys life. Personal Trainer, avid fan and MMA enthusiast.

Posted on December 17, 2011, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

