Need a Change… Tabata Anyone?


Hey What’s going on everyone? Hope you are doing great and maybe even sleeping at this hour. Since I am not that fortunate, I decided to drop a post to maybe add a little diversity to your workouts.
I wanted to give you a routine to try at home with about 30 minutes of free time to spice up your resistance and cardio routines. If you aren’t working out (shame on you!), this could be something you can try for starters.

For those that are not familiar with the Tabata Principle, it is the concept of using timed exertion with a short rest period followed immediately by another movement with maximum exertion. This format with about 5 to 6 exercises are done in sets with the exertion (movement of exercise) lasting about 20 seconds, followed by 10 seconds of rest.

Below I have listed a few standard exercises for you to start out with. Remember that when utilizing this technique you must complete all exercises to complete one set. In between each exercise, you should only be taking enough time to recover (10 seconds) and getting into position to begin the next exercise. Try this out and let me know what you think.

Each Exercise is done for 20 seconds with a 10 second rest period
Completing all exercises once through is considered one set.
Complete 3-5 sets (based on your fitness level)

1. Push Ups   (20 seconds max exertion, 10 seconds rest)
2. Mountain Climbers (20 seconds max exertion, 10 seconds rest)
3. Jumping Jacks (20 seconds max exertion, 10 seconds rest)
4. Squats (20 seconds max exertion, 10 seconds rest)
5. Lunges (20 seconds max exertion, 10 seconds rest)

*20 second rest between sets*

Try this out and leave me a comment on what you think.

Thanks for Reading and Have a Great Weekend!

About jfitclub11

Proud Father, easy going kind of guy that enjoys life. Personal Trainer, avid fan and MMA enthusiast.

Posted on October 29, 2011, in Boot Camps, conditioning, fitness and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. I greatly appreciate all the info I’ve read here. I will spread the word about your blog to other people. Cheers.
    My site is Cheap Flights.

  2. Thank you for sharing. Not to many people in your position are so gracious. Your article was very poignant and understandable. It helped me to understand very clearly. Thank you for your help.
    My travel blog Top Travel Destinations.

  3. I like this. I do sprints and lunges to boost my metabolism and break the monotony in this way. I hate treadmills and ellipticals etc. Will give this a whirl in the am. Thanks.

Leave a Reply

